Fastest Highest Strongest

2016 National Masters Road Race Champion

Richard Haughton was the winner in the group. After a season out of competition in 2015 which caused him to drop to second category, Haughton has been making up for lost time: the BC web site shows that he has entered 33 events so far this season, and this was his sixth victory.

He described the race as ‘attacking’, with six or seven breaks forming and being recaught. He managed to bridge to a group of twelve with 5k to go, he attacked again with 1k left taking three on his wheel, of these Jonathan Harris came past him after the two hundred metre mark, but a last effort from Haughton carried off the victory.

1.Richard Haughton (THR Racing)
2.Jonathan Harris (PMR@Toachim House)
3.Martin Ford (Planet X –Northside Cycling)
4.Jo Skelton (Look Mum No Hands!)
5.Ian Cullen (Mid Devon CC)
6.Craig McLean (Nuun Sigma Sport-London RT)

Full report